Deepwells Farm – Saint James, NY

On July 19, 2008 I visited the Suffolk County owned Deepwells Farm for the first time. The estate was built in 1845 and was renovated in 1924 as a Greek Revival Style home. The farm is open for special events, on this day a craft fair was going on.

Front Entrance of Deepwells

Front Entrance of Deepwells

The house with a view of the water tower. The estate was named for two 125 foot deep wells on the property.

Deepwells with Water Tower

Deepwells with Water Tower

A side view of the house with the servant’s wing clearly visible in the rear of the picture.

Side View of Deepwells with Servants wing visible in the Rear

Side View of Deepwells with Servant's wing visible in the Rear

The rear entrance and garden.

Back Door and Garden

Back Door and Garden

The house is mostly empty on the inside, very few furnishings, but the rooms are generally in good shape- much restoration work has been done to the house.

Second Floor Hall

Second Floor Hall

Dining Room Fireplace

Dining Room Fireplace

Dining Room Fireplace

I can’t remember which room this fireplace was in….

Fireplace in Deepwells

Fireplace in Deepwells

The Cupola on top of Deepwells.

Deepwells Cupola

Deepwells Cupola

4 Comments

Filed under Long Island Historic Homes

4 responses to “Deepwells Farm – Saint James, NY

  1. I found your blog on MSN Search. Nice writing. I will check back to read more.

    Eric Hundin

  2. Pingback: Saint James General store - City-Data Forum

  3. Thomas Connors

    Hi Deep wells Thomas Connors here I did not forget about the house I still love it just that I can’t walk so I can’t be there how are the ghost still bothering people. I was a volunteer there from 1995 to Toby about 2004 I hope you remember me. I Remember the house it was a lot of fun just wanted to let you know I’m still out here and I still love Deep Wells.

  4. Janet

    Does anyone know who died at Deepwells ? Thanks.

Leave a Reply

