Sefton (Mill Neck) Manor, Mill Neck NY

Mill Neck Manor

On June 5, 2008 I visited this Mansions and Millionaires Designer Show House. I had been to the grounds of this great estate many times while I was growing up, but somehow I never made it into this fabulous house until this day. I was saddened to learn that this great building has been standing empty, since the School for the Deaf moved to its new buildings adjacent to this mansion.

Mill Neck Manor with servants wing on left

This house was built in 1923, by the architectural firm of Clinton & Russell, Wells, Holton & George. It is a Tudor Revival Manor.  Thirty-seven fabulous rooms were on display on three floors.  The service wing is visible in the above picture, on the left.

Entrance Mill Neck Manor

Over the main entrance, a large stained glass window depicting five of Shakespeare’s most memorable plays, is visible. It was made by Charles Connick of Boston. It dramatically lights the main stairs inside the manor house.

Garden detail

Charles Leavitt was the landscape architect employed by the Dodges. He designed sunken, formal gardens which have not been restored, with three temples and two beautiful gates, which are all still existant. Two of the garden temples look like the one pictured above. They are known as the Temple of the Evening Sun and the Temple of the Morning Star.

Garden Urn Detail

One of many urns that mark where the sunken gardens once were.

Garden Temple

A limestone temple- known as the temple of the Midday Sun.

***************************************

Information on this page is from the Designers’ Showcase 2008 – Mill Neck Manor booklet, provided with admission to the show. P. 76, 108, 118.

16 Comments

Filed under Long Island Historic Homes

16 responses to “Sefton (Mill Neck) Manor, Mill Neck NY

  1. ken

    Actually the word is spelled “Tudor”

  2. jane lessard

    Hello I was a student at this school.I went classes inside the dodge manor which had chapel, cafeteria, kitchen, coat room milk house was our ditto room and speech lessons. Thera re more to say. Iwas surprised that manor not in use ahh.
    Need totake picture up close on these stained windows and grand staircase and 2 lovely fireplaces. Secret doors are ther also and evn had service elevator… garden wasa beauty back thenm .iwent ther fromn 1957 to 1971 which I graduated.

  3. alma jean hill

    Hi! me too jane i am surprise that the manor is not in use but i thought this beautiful building is still running cause i been there since the late 1960 and graduated since the 1970 come to think i had a great times at the manor, i will never forget this beautiful buildings make me proud to say i was there.

  4. suzy

    how much money is this mansion if a person were to buy it?

  5. Pingback: 2010 in review | Historic Houses

  6. The mansion can be seen in the film After.Life, with Liam Neeson and Christina Ricci, playing the part of a mortuary.

  7. Robin Marshall-Strong _Day

    i never forget about mill neck manor . the school are beautiful i want to keep the school . i like to see many many friends i grow and still school until gradaution but i missed the school .

    • alma jean hill

      I too missed the school, it is so beautiful and also missed the fun that I enjoyed at Mill Neck and the teachers

  8. It’s a wonderful estate – my mother worked there when it was The School for the Deaf, in food service – she was Cora Bathie and worked with 3 other women and the cooks – I remember hearing about Jean and Rosetta – she was so impressed with the goals of the learning environment and felt it was a special place.

  9. Larry Alwiel

    Good Afternoon!

    I have been selling office supplies, furniture, and related supplies to this fantastic place for many years.

    The dedication of those who manage and teach at Mill Neck is remarkable!

    I fell in love with the beauty of the Manor House and grounds.

    Then with everyone else!

    It has been….and continues to be a privilege to be associated with this Family of organisations.

    Enjoy this day….Its a gift,

    Larry Alwiel

  10. Rev. Robert A. Schefter

    Mill Neck Manor was opened in the year I was born! I first started going to the Fall Festival when I was five. Over the years many of the churches I was a part of tried to suoport Mill Neck in whatever way possible. God certainly chose a beautiful spot to accomplish an important purpose. May the work done there and the lives touched go on for many years to come.

  11. Maryann Pichney-Jones

    I grew up in Uniondale in the 60’s, and not a year went by that we didn’t go up to Mill Neck Manor’s Apple Festival. IIRC, there was a smaller “festival” (really just an apple sale) in September, when the early varieties of apples ripened. The real Festival was in October, and over time they added cider, pumpkins, honey, and finally a bazaar with quilts and crafts for sale. I remember children rolling down the hill in front of the mansion!
    There were several varieties of apples and every year my mother bought a bushel of Northern Spies to make pies and apple butter.
    Thanks for the memories!

  12. Hmm it seems like your website ate my first comment (it was super long) so I guess
    I’ll just sum it up what I submitted and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.
    I as well am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new to everything.
    Do you have any helpful hints for inexperienced blog writers?
    I’d certainly appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

