The Manor of St. George, Mastic NY

I visited this house on September 5, 2008. It was the third time I had tried to visit this house. There is no official web site for the estate, and posted hours on third party web sites were incorrect. Make the trip – it is worth it.

Manor of St. George

Manor of St. George

Above is a view of the North side of the Manor house. The smaller section of the manor, visible here, was the original house. Below, is a view of the South side of the Manor, with the sleeping porch clearly visible.

South Side of Manor House

South Side of Manor House

The Union Jack proudly flies at the Manor.

Union Jack Flying at the Manor

Union Jack Flying at the Manor

Flag Pole Plaque

Flag Pole Plaque

View of Great South Bay

View of Great South Bay

The cannons below, actually are standing on the site of the original Revolutionary fort. Why these cannons, from the War of 1812, are on this site, was never made clear to me…

Cannons from the War of 1812

Cannons from the War of 1812

A distant view of the family plot.

Family Cemetery

Family Cemetery

Out Buildings of the Manor

Out Buildings of the Manor

There are many accessory buildings, or out buildings to the Manor, I took pictures of a few of them.

More Outbuildings on the Manor Grounds

More Outbuildings on the Manor Grounds

Ice House

Ice House

I thought the carving, on top of the Ice House, was interesting……

Carving on Ice House

Carving on Ice House

This siding completely covered on of the out buildings. I wondered if it was the original “aluminum siding,” or if this was recycled from an interior ceiling at some point…. I loved the pattern in the late afternoon sun.

Detail of Siding on one of the Outbuildings

Detail of Siding on one of the Outbuildings

This is one of two stockades on the grounds.

The Stockade

The Stockade

This bell is interesting…..

Manor Bell

Manor Bell

Another View of the Bay

Another View of the Bay

14 Comments

Filed under Long Island Historic Homes

14 responses to “The Manor of St. George, Mastic NY

  1. robby

    hey is there any haunting dares about the cemetery at the st. George manor museum???

    • p

      I grew up around that area. Actually my house was on the south side of the estate and my cousins house was on the north. So When we were children we walked passed or drove passed it often. It sets back off the main highway (William Floyd Parkway- named after another historical figure) behind the 7-11 on a dirt road I believe it’s Smith Road. There wasn’t always a grounds keeper which is why the hours are not always consistent. I remember some summers the house wasn’t open at all. The grounds are beautiful and most of the items in the home are original. However ask anyone who lives in that area and most would say that the grounds of the manor are haunted. Not so much the cemetery, but the house and the grounds. When we were children we were unaware of the rich history in our town. There are a ton of historical places to visit on Long Island. This place is a great stop. The Manor of St. George was a fort that was loyal to England. And the Smiths (the family who lived there) brought the Whaling industry to Long Island. Sorry this is four years late.

      • Anthony Di Giacomo

        I also grew up near the Manor and remember a story about a revolutionary war soldier who was shot and killed on the main stairway in the house. The story goes that the soldier has been seen wondering the house by. I also remember a story about a little girl whose ghost haunts the attic. I use to love to go and visit the manor as a child back in the 70′

  2. Leona

    Great photos and info, brought back memories of when I was a kid riding my bike around there with my boyfriend. That same boyfriend is my husband of over 35 years. Nice memories thanks

  3. Fran atanasio

    I have tried numerous times to see this place. The one time I actually found a person she assured me she would be back In 15 minutes to give a tour, she never came back

  4. Sal Porter

    This was a second attempt to see the manor by the times posted from the road. there was no personal at the location. After an hour of looking around someone finaaly shows up and gives us a tour of the house after making us wait 45 minuates to rush though the tour which was about 5 minuates. I am being generous by saying 5 minuates. If you want a really great tour of another local historic site go to the William Floyd Estate. There they have professonial staff who gave a wonderful tour. The Manor of St. George should be run by the parks department.

  5. Dave G.

    There was also a military airfield there during WWI. Also there is an aerial photo of the grounds and you can see the outline of the fort’s foundation.

  6. Morton

    In the late 1960’s and early 1970’s my parents would bring us to a relatives home in Mastic Beach for “summer vacation”. This was before M.B. was inundated with Section 8, and it was a great retreat for those of us from Brooklyn. (It is a crime what hapened to that town. It had such potential) A visit to Fire Island, The Hamptons and The Manor of St. George was always part of the trip.
    I remember there were two old ladies that ran the place. One of them was very old and she would sit silently on a chair at the top of the staircase. My siblings and I were always frightened of her.
    I remember sitting on those cannons and my dad taking photographs.
    I was always fascinated by the family plot that was on the grounds.

    I am glad to see the place is holding up.

    • Leona

      I too remember the two old ladies at the Manor Of St George in Mastic. I had forgotten about them until they were mentioned in the comment. I remember them from the 1960’s. and it is ashame that there is so much Section 8 out there, my parents had such a nice summer house before it went down hill. A lot of beautiful memories of meeting my husband out there and my sister met her husband there, too. Thanks for the reminder of the old ladies!

  7. RFWelch

    The flag is not the Union Jack. It is the Grand Union flag used by revolutionaries early in the war,
    The cannon are Civil War era.

  8. G. Philips

    I was here with my family about 10 years ago. They wouldn’t let us in to the actual house since my kids were very young. While I was annoyed at the time – it retrospect, it makes sense for preservation. So we toured the grounds instead. As we headed toward the family graveyard, my young daughter (no more than 3 at the time) looked over and started screaming at us not to continue walking toward the gravesite. When we asked why, all she could say was “scary monsters”, “scary monsters!”

  9. Dolores

    What makes it haunted

  10. Jim Richeson

    Shirley,…it’s in Shirley, along with Smith Point County Park, not Mastic or Mastic Beach. I used to take the last two Ladies who lived in the House, scones once and a while. They liked to talk!

  11. It is said the land is haunted. Basement has tunnel s going out to the cemetery .

Leave a Reply

