Oheka Castle, Cold Spring Harbor NY

Oheka Castle is the second largest private residence built in America.  It was designed by the architects Delano & Aldrich between 1914 -1919 for finacier Otto H. Kahn.  The castle is currently a hotel and catering venue.  I believe I got “Castle Fever” while I was there – I was enthralled by the architecture and the landscape.  I took many photos of the Castle and its interior spaces.  Here is a sample:

Oheka Side view

Oheka Side view

National Register Plaque

National Register Plaque

Courtyard view

Courtyard view

Terrace Room View

Terrace Room View

Loggia

Loggia

Because I took so many photos, I recommend viewing them on my Flickr site.

2 Comments

Filed under Long Island Historic Homes

2 responses to “Oheka Castle, Cold Spring Harbor NY

  1. Richard H. Rogers

    Very nice shots of OHK’s little home! I have always wanted to see it as he was my father’s godfather. He and my grandfather were cousins. Thanks!

  2. And let’s not forget that episodes of Royal Pains (USA Channel) are filmed in and around Oheka even though the setting for the show is supposed to be The Hamptons.

Leave a Reply

